A Woman on A Mission

Let’s endure this journey called life!

Sunshine is So Underrated! (UPDATE!) September 27, 2008

Let the Sunshine In! šŸ™‚

Did you know that it only takes 15 minutes in the sun a day to get your daily dose of Vitamin D? I believe you get somewhere between 10, 000 units – 15, 000 units of Vitamin D from just 15 minutes out in direct sunlight.

Why is this important? If you have anything going wrong with your bones, your joints or your overall skeleton, Vitamin D is critical to aid in restoring some bone health. Just never overdose on the pill version of it as it could be fatal. Talk to your doctor about how much is necessary for YOU to take. Or perhaps ask him/her to do blood work to see how your levels are doing. In any event, why not go out into the sunshine as a preventative measure? Keep in mind, 15 minutes is all you need.

Are you feeling depressed? The sun also aids depression as it increases the amount of Serotonin secreted in your brain.

Please refer to this article for the whole story as to why the Sun is so good for you!

When I come back inside from my daily bath in the sun, I feel much better always. However, we are moving toward winter. I wonder how effective the sun is during the winter? Sounds like a dumb question, but I just wonder. I will certainly miss the penetrating warmth from the sun in the winter – that is for sure.

If you are worried about skin cancer, I hardly think that 15 minutes daily can do that to you, but if research says otherwise, I will update this post. My problem is that once I get out into the sun, I don’t want to come back inside because it feels so good.

UPDATE:

Research shows that more people die from Vitamin D deficiency than from skin cancer. SPFs also block Vitamin D absorbion in the body. Feel free to read more here.

 

3 Responses to “Sunshine is So Underrated! (UPDATE!)”

  1. Greetings, Earthlings!
    Zontar, too, is very interested in health and is most curious about the oddness of the human body. Xenon, the lovely little planet from which I originate, does not have access to your sun, therefore Zontar was sore amazed when he first alighted upon your universe.
    Zontar is also curiously intrigued about this vitamin D you speak of. Zontar tried to sit out in your sun but none of this D absorbed as Xenonians do not have skin.
    But all the same, Zontar wishes you all the luck in the world on the creation of your excellent new blog endeavor. May you live long and prosper, as do all of your minions!
    Hail Healthy Monkey!
    Hail Zontar!!

  2. Robin Says:

    Hey, Ticklebug! Neat site!! I’ll put you on my bloglist asap….

    Love the colors!

  3. rima Says:

    Hey Karen, this is all so true. I was thinking about sitting out tomorrow, and You just motivated me to sit out tomorrow. Hope it does not rain.
    Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine…


Leave a Reply

